Skip to content

You can call me Zombie Killer

January 27, 2011

(And then you can buy me one of these shirts. Small. LOL.)

I know we decided on theology for 2011, but … whatever, this is totally good theology. With zombies.

I got this message from one of our students a few days ago. I’m changing his name to “Joe,” ’cause I don’t know if he wants me to tell you who he is. I stinking love this:

Alright, so a few minutes ago I woke up from this crazy dream, you were in it, God told me that it was very important, and since you were in it I felt like telling you too.

The dream was kind of an allegory-type thing. The story was that scientists had engineered zombies, by implanting robotics of some kind into them, and that caused them to turn on the human race, and hunt them down at every corner possible.

The first half of this dream played through my eyes, in a shopping mall scenario. I was running from these terminator/zombie creatures, who oppressed me at every turn, and I barely made it out alive on my own, and even then, I was unable to save anyone else.

THEN, the dream took a turn, I was in the same parking lot area of the mall, however, I was experiencing the event through your eyes. You started through the lot nonchalantly, and walked into a group of survivors. The zombies came and scattered some of you, but you stood your ground with one other survivor.

Then, the Holy Spirit told you to pray in tongues. You did what He said, and a fallen angel came out from the zombie, looked you in the eye, and said, “I can’t kill you, there would be no victory in it,” and departed.

The dream shifted to you giving your testimony to a large group of survivors in a theatre, and you said, “From that moment on, as long as I praised God, the zombies scattered and left us to live for God.” Then we broke out into an awesome praise and worship session.

So I woke up, and was like, “Wow God, what the heck just happened?” And I felt him say, “[Joe], life is full of oppressions and temptations, just like those zombies. But if you would only praise My name, the enemy before you would scatter.

Then it hit me that this was what we were talking about in youth group, and I was like, “Wow what a spiritual moment, I should send Lex a message about it.” So I did. I definitely will start worshiping more.

So even if you take out the part about me standing my ground before the zombie hoard – which is my second-favorite part, personally – this is still pretty awesome.

The Friday before, we’d talked about 2 Chronicles 20 and the role of worship in the life of a believer. Verse 22:

Now when they began to sing and to praise, the Lord set ambushes against the people of Ammon, Moab, and Mount Seir, who had come against Judah; and they were defeated.

Same story … different players.

Zombies on a theology blog. You read it here first.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Grace permalink
    February 1, 2011 1:36 pm

    This is crazy! I too have had a similar experience regarding oppression. I would wake up in the middle of the night and have to run to the bathroom. Since I live in the back of church, I had to go down the dark stairs and go into the dark nursery. I was scared stiff the first month or so that this was happening. I’d wake up, run down to the bathroom and be scared silly. I could feel something incredibly evil and terrifying, I thought I was being chased and stared at!

    Needless to say, after awhile I just grabbed my Bible and prayed for protection. I started thanking God for waking me up and letting me have a brief time with Him, since I would have otherwise been sleeping. I stopped being scared. Eventually I no longer woke up in the middle of the night (Thank God!)

    But yeah, the whole “But if you would only praise My name, the enemy would scatter.” and from Bible “when they began to sing and to praise, the Lord set ambushes…. and they were defeated.” I never fully understood my experience and why I stopped waking up, but now I do!’

    • Lex permalink
      February 1, 2011 2:23 pm

      Zombie theology applies to every-day life! ;)

Leave a Reply

