Skip to content

Thanksgiving Traditions: What are yours?

November 25, 2010

Your favorite family tradition. Go.

Mine is lasagna. My grandmother is Italian. We have turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, cranberries … and lasagna. Stinkin’ good lasagna, of course, but it cracks me up every year. You’ve seen it as the joke on sitcoms and mobster-family-movies. It’s true. It happens.

What’s your weird family do? (I anyone has this hat you automatically win, but we’re going to need pics to prove it.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 10:39 am

    Ever since I moved out to Spokane, my cousins and I put on a “show” at the end of Thanksgiving dinner. We pick out a cheesy song (usually something from the 80’s), don the weirdest combination of clothing we can dig up, and rock out in the living room.

    And, yes, we still do this, even though 2 of us are 30ish and the rest all in their 20’s.

    I’m hoping our kids will carry on this tradition when we get to geriatric to do it :p

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • November 25, 2010 10:40 am

      PS–if I had that hat, it would TOTALLY be part of the show this year.

      • Lex permalink
        November 27, 2010 9:54 am

        Jennie, That’s hilarious. I’m tempted to try to find you one of those hats just to see pics of you wearing it. :)

        And I didn’t know you were in Spokane. I have some really amazing, dear friends who live in Spokane!

      • November 29, 2010 11:19 am

        Small world!! Usually people have no idea where Spokane is…and when I say Washington they either assume I mean DC or they ask me how I like Seattle. :)

  2. Noeleen permalink
    November 25, 2010 10:50 am

    If I’d have my way, it’d be Indian food :)

    • Lex permalink
      November 27, 2010 9:56 am

      You’d have two extra guests for Thanksgiving!

  3. Jenn permalink
    November 25, 2010 10:13 pm

    This year we (read: dad) held a shuffleboard tournament as part of our Thanksgiving festivities. The 18ft monstrosity is now a permanent fixture in our basement and there will likely be many more of these tournaments in years to come.

Leave a Reply

