Skip to content

Fourth of July celebration idea

July 4, 2010

How are you celebrating the Fourth of July? I just had an idea for how we can rock this Independence Day.

I’m laying in the sun by the pool so my suit can dry before I go inside, and I was just thinking about what a nice, relaxed day this is turning out to be. An assortment of family and their friends are on a kind of existential schedule rotating through the pool, the side of the pool, the teevee room, the kitchen, the card table, etc. Americana at it’s finest. Lethargy and luxury.

And I know I shouldn’t feel guilty for what nation I couldn’t help be born into. I’m thankful, but that just doesn’t seem like enough.

SomeOne who knows once said that to whom much has been given, much will be required.

So how about we celebrate our independence by using it on behalf of those who have none? How about we express gratitude for our freedoms by using them to the benefit of those who aren’t so free? How about we use our blessings for those less blessed?

Let’s celebrate the Fourth by giving it away.

My challenge to you (and me) is this: Make an Independence Day donation to an organization that is working on behalf of the enslaved, the persecuted, or the poor. I know times are tough for a lot of us, but if you can donate $5, do it. Our economic slump is still more prosperous than much of the world will ever see.

And since there are so many organizations to choose from, leave us a comment with a link/tip to your favorite one.

Our Independence Day celebration is going to either Compassion International or the Agape Full Gospel Ministries International.

You in?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

