Skip to content

Baby Makin’

April 8, 2010

One year ago December I stopped taking birth control.

When you’re on birth control, there’s this prevailing, unspoken threat that if you miss a day – if you’re even hours off – you could very likely be pregnant. Like, instantly. Somehow. And that lends itself to the idea that when you stop taking birth control you’d better be ready.

So 15 months ago we thought we were pretty ready.

And maybe we were wrong.

Details after the break. (Because I realize some of you don’t want details – you’re welcome. Not that said details are gross or excessive or anything. But some people think any obscure reference a period is gross. So there – I’ve done it anyway. Geeze … just … whatever …)

About a year after ditching birth control, my body started working normally again. I’ve been going strong for three or four months in a row now – every 36 days, like clockwork. So that, in and of itself, is kind of exciting. (Three months ago I had cramps for the first time in about a decade and I didn’t know what was going on for a few hours. Seriously. Laugh it up.)

Many thanks to everyone who has been praying, ’cause that’s definitely done it. I tried to let the doctor fix it, but she couldn’t really. She gave me two prescriptions and a Post-It note packed with dates and instructions, but nothing really happened. Uterine lining was still securely in place.

So we went back to being healthy in general and praying, which has been working great. Also very helpful was a book that a friend of Jenn’s (whom I don’t know) lent to her to lend to me. Website for said book is here. I downloaded charts and bought a basal thermometer, and once I got over feeling like a weird hippy I started to feel really good about it. It’s definitely helping.

Current status: I’m almost in tip-top shape and getting better every day. You don’t want all those details, trust me; just pray please. We’re kind of monitoring and waiting. We don’t have health insurance and we don’t have much money, so we can’t go back to the doctor and we can’t seriously consider adoption right now (though I did do some online pricing recently and Haiti is the cheapest). So we’re monitoring and waiting ’cause it’s all we can do.

So yes, I know it looks good on me. I know how long we’ve been married and how old we are. I know we’ll be decent at it. I know my mother has already purchased pastel fabric for a baby quilt. I don’t mind the comments and the hints. The situation isn’t tragic or anything. I’m just sayin’, if you want little ‘Sniewski babies, talk to the Man ’cause there’s nothing left for us to do.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. bianca permalink
    April 8, 2010 10:48 am

    Yay! for the update… thank you for sharing. We are praying and believing! (Super glad you’re feeling tip top and healthy! That will come in handy when the whole thing goes down ;)

    • Lex permalink
      April 8, 2010 1:39 pm

      Thanks BB! Can’t wait to see your little ginger! :)

  2. JAnet permalink
    April 8, 2010 2:21 pm

    Gods timing is better than mans. A dear friend of my family was told she had a hugh grow in her womb, because things are much slower back in Ireland, the grow got bigger before she had gotto see her second Drs . Well this lady always wanted to have another child, she had prayed for several years for a second child. So when the second doctor also told her it was cancer, she gave it to God asking what should she do. God told her to ask for one more ultra-sound, well they found she was 3-4 months pregnant and the baby was health. They made reasons why this mistake happened, one of the nurse gave her heart to Jesus. Things always work out better in his timing!

    • Lex permalink
      April 8, 2010 3:50 pm

      That’s an amazing testimony!

      We’ve pretty much handed the timing thing over. (We haven’t really had a choice!) We’re both so busy that we know a baby would seriously disrupt things right now anyway. So we’re just waiting and trusting that God knows!

  3. Loretta permalink
    April 8, 2010 7:29 pm

    Just waiting for that “middle of the night intrusion while we’re in bed visit with great news” thing to happen. Can’t wait. Love you guys and know you’re right; you will be great at it. :)

    • Lex permalink
      April 9, 2010 10:00 am

      Even if we find out at 9 in the morning we’re going to not tell anyone and wait until about midnight to come over. ;)

      • Loretta permalink
        April 10, 2010 10:15 am

        K… :)

Leave a Reply

