Skip to content

Answered prayers

February 12, 2010

I have to say thank you to everyone/anyone who has been praying for Husband and me over the past few weeks.

For anyone who doesn’t know, Husband has about a month left at his job and then he’ll be let go. We’ve been furiously job hunting (for both of us), but you know how that goes these days. The offer he did get, and is working on, is 100% commission. He can totally do the job, but we just don’t have much to cover a lapse in income while he gets it off the ground. We also don’t have health insurance. So there’s still job hunting going on. It’s been crazy and rather stressful.

As the wife who wants a family and a home that I can be comfortable in, and secure in, and invite people over to – the whole thing has been beating me up. The “what if’s” have been constantly banging down my door, and I’ve been struggling to throw scripture back at them fast enough. What if ¬†nothing comes through? What if you can’t pay the mortgage next month? What if you go into foreclosure?

What if? What if? What if?

Yesterday we decided to fast. Some dear friends are in a similar situation, and said a fast was exactly what they needed.

I haven’t fasted in a long time. I put it on a back burner for a while to try to get myself healthy and strong and consuming more calories in an attempt to get my ovaries in line. Fasting doesn’t get easier when you don’t do it for a long time.

But yesterday afternoon, as I drove to meet a friend for coffee (knowing full well that caffeine on an empty stomach is not a good idea, but being so over it), it lifted.

I’m sure it was a combination of things – seeing the sun for the first time all day (week?), the fast, the extra prayer/Bible time the day before – but I know that no small part of it was friends praying for us.

I didn’t suddenly get a call that Timothy landed a great, steady job, or that the commission gig had become commission and a small salary. I just suddenly had enough peace and grace to let it go.

I’m tired of worrying. Mine is the God who provides, and if not, He’s the God who restores. And if not, He’s the God who loves and saves, and all of this is going to be over before you know it anyway. Life is a vapor, and I will not spend mine stressed out about things I cannot control. I will not whine and doubt through my trials and testings.

If you prayed, thank you. If you’re stressed out, or worried, or worn down, leave a comment – you can explain or not – and I’m going to pray for you. (And suggest you fast and read Job, seriously.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 12:18 pm

    well. my wife and i were/are in a suspiciously similar situation. i have been without a full time job since february of last year. i have not worked at all since thanksgiving, save a few freelance design jobs. my wife, too, has been living through the “what ifs” and the “calm my anxious heart” prayers nearly every day. we just had our second baby at the end of december and our insurance situation is fragile, and that’s an understatement…we’re dancing a fine line between trying to switch over without getting into the “pre-existing condition” categories, what a headache.

    needless to say, titles like “savings” and “retirement accounts” become just a string of letters leading to a new thing, “GOD help us.”

    he truly has provided in ways we would never have expected – and to be honest, never have, in our marriage, seen before!

    i trust that he is who he says he is and will, therefore, be exactly what you guys are needing in this opportune time of your lives.

    if you don’t mind my asking, what vocational genre is your husband in? if i can at all help spread the word, i’d be glad to…

    anyways, thanks for sharing this via the public forum…many blessings and grace to you and yours!

    • Lex permalink
      February 12, 2010 1:25 pm

      Ours seems to be a more and more common story. While that’s not good news, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t find it somewhat comforting. Other people are surviving it, and so will we by God’s grace and love.

      My husband is in sales in the garment/apparel vocational genre. He works with a couple of printers/embroiderers who do t-shirts and basically anything else you could want to print on – garment or otherwise. They do basic stuff (jerseys and corporate logos) and some pretty amazing creative graphics stuff.

  2. Tim permalink
    February 16, 2010 12:21 am

    Did Timmy get the job yet? We are anxious to hear the news on that. Thanks for the good post, very encouraging! No worries, just look out your window at a sparrow and you realize quickly how futile our anxious thoughts really are.

    • Lex permalink
      February 16, 2010 10:02 am

      He’s going to start doing sales with a couple of his current customers. We’re still sending out resumes to see if something with health insurance doesn’t turn up.

  3. marikrauss permalink
    February 17, 2010 5:51 pm

    Yay for fasting. Expect cool things!
    Interesting you mentioned Job. I just finished reading it and blogged about it – http://www.mariannekrauss.wordpress.com.
    There does seem to be a lot of people in similar situations. I know that there is the economy, etc but I am feeling excited because I am also feeling that God is preparing us for more (cue tingling sensation and hairs rising.) I know the battle began in the garden but I feel the climax is coming and the soldiers are being prepared. I know that I am feeling more freed from the worries of the world (’cause there isn’t much I can do to change our situation except pray) and more focused on eternal things.

Leave a Reply

