Skip to content

Peer pressure is a good thing

August 24, 2009

Working subtitle, “The Rest of the Fork Story.”

fork

I recently remembered the story about the woman and the fork in talking to some friends. I hadn’t thought about it in years. It’s been years, and the more I thought about it the more I realized I was a baby Christian when it happened.

And I wasn’t the kind of new Christian who gets really excited and tries to single-handedly evangelize the world. I love those people. I just wasn’t one of those people. I actually wasn’t very excited about turning my life over to Jesus when it happened. It cost me a lot, and I kind of thought I was doing okay on my own anyway.

When I got on the train that night I was listening to Holy Spirit because I got on the train wondering what He might want to do (which makes my disobedience even more ridiculous, I know). It wasn’t just that night. I did that a lot. “What do you want to do at Chili’s tonight, Lord?” “What do you want to do at Jewel this afternoon?”

I’d forgotten, but as I started to remember two thoughts hit me.

First, and most obvious, was “Why don’t I do that anymore?” Everywhere I went I was waiting for Holy Spirit to want to talk to someone, encourage someone, invite someone. Has He gotten tired of people, or have I gotten too comfortable?

Then, why? For someone so begrudgingly “converted,” how did I get there? My friends.

There were four of us from church who would hang out, pray, worship, study, and share stories. I was the new one. I was the baby Christian, and I was constantly hearing stories about how she had a prophetic word for this guy at the train station, or he prayed for healing for this guy at the restaurant. It was all I knew. More than that – it was expected.

I would by lying if I dismissed that peer pressure as part of the story of the woman to whom I did not give my fork. In the back of my mind I knew where I would be 48 hours later, who I would be with, and I knew I would either have a faith story to share … or I wouldn’t.

So I ask you these two questions this morning.

First, when was the last time you expected God to use you on a weekday afternoon? When was the last time you walked into a cafe or grocery store and thought, “Alright, Holy Spirit. I need eggs, but who else is here right now that You love?”

Second, who are you hanging out with? Not that believers should ever isolate ourselves from the rest of the world. Some of your friends are not believers, some are weaker than you and they need you. That’s great. But who’s challenging you? Who is expecting you to do the impossible by faith?

Which do you need to work on?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jacob permalink
    August 24, 2009 11:47 am

    Lex I haven’t been by ur blog in quite a while, but I had a free moment and thought of it. I was glad I did this is a good helpful reminder of how to stay focused. Like a lil proverbs 32? Jk don’t want to cause my sister to become proud, but really good thought.

Leave a Reply

