Skip to content

Reinhard Bonnke Book Give-Away

August 4, 2009

bonnkeI’ve been gushing about this book to everyone who will listen for the past month. If you’re not buzzing because the Spirit that hovered over the face of the deep, that descended on Jesus like a dove and later rose Him from the dead, is alive inside of you – you’ll benefit from this book.

Because I wasn’t either. But now I am.

I posted most, I think, of chapter one here – the reality of who Holy Spirit is. And we looked at the baptism of the Holy Spirit, per Bonnke, here.

ER Publishing has been gracious enough to send a few more free books our way. Apparently they want you to read this as much as I do.

And, okay, honest moment: No, it’s not the latest hip-Christian-scene book from the coolest pastor of one of the [“-est” adjective here] churches (although, I mean, it is Bonnke), but it will rock you in ways the latest research or church trend can’t.

So let’s get right to it. I’m going to try to get rid of two of these in one shot ‘cause I want to get this into your hands. Here’s what we’re going to do:

I’m going to randomly select a comment at the end of the week. If you posted that comment, I’ll email you and we’ll get you one. If you Twitter, and you send out a link, and someone follows it, and that someone mentions your @name in his comment, you’ll both get a copy.

Here’s one you can copy and paste:

“EP is giving away copies of Bonnke’s Holy Spirit book. Tell her I sent you and we could both win a copy: http://is.gd/22lg5”

If you followed a Twitter link here, don’t forget to leave the @name of the Tweeter who referred you!

To further inspire you about the book’s worthiness of your 140 characters, a passage from chapter six, “Holy Spirit Fire and Passion,” regarding worship:

“It is one of the greatest tragedies in history that the church should have decided to adopt the attitude of subdued emotions for worship. Calling that solemnity ‘reverence’ is an abuse of the English language. How ‘reverent’ is it to be glum when remembering all God has done for us?

“Our efforts not to be emotional when God is in view must come as a surprise to God. Is he happy with switched-off worshipers, deadpan faces, as rigid as gravestone figures? God, the fountain of life, needs lifeless representatives like we need a pain in the neck. Frigid worship is excused as ‘dignified.’ The nine-fold fruit of the Spirit does not include dignity. (Emphasis mine) Dignity is no response to Christ crucified. In Scripture worshipers fall at the feet of Christ. On the day of Pentecost believers were thought to be drunk as they left the upper room.”

Ya, you need this. Ready, set, comment. Ready, set, Twitter.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 11:51 am

    Sounds like a killer book. Me me pick me!!

  2. August 4, 2009 1:27 pm

    One of the other quotes you mentioned from this book has been sort of nagging me at the back of my mind ever since I read it, which is a good thing! It’s got me thinking more about the Holy Spirit and questioning how well I really know Him. He’s also been hitting me hard lately with my desperate need for the fruit of the Holy Spirit in my life, so I’m definitely intrigued by this book and would love to win! :)
    P.S. Thanks for the follow on Twitter! @echoinghim

  3. August 4, 2009 2:16 pm

    Looks interesting!

  4. PeeJay permalink
    August 4, 2009 2:19 pm

    So is the cool comment I left on that one post from last week or this week…darn, I think that was last week. So here’s my random attempt to make a comment and win something cool.

    • Lex permalink
      August 4, 2009 2:54 pm

      @Jacquie – What quote have you been thinking about?

      @Kent – Oh it is. Thanks for the comment. I love ChurchRelevance!

      @PJ – Second time may be a charm! ;)

  5. August 4, 2009 4:29 pm

    I’m intrigued ;)

  6. August 4, 2009 5:53 pm

    It is true. Not many followers of Jesus intimately know the Holy Spirit. There is a need for us to learn to constantly be aware of what He is doing/saying so we can join Him. He has so much to teach us. Jesus said it himself Joh 14:26 “But the Comforter, even the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all that I said unto you. ”

    Thanks for sharing.

    Nathan Allison @shadowslasher

  7. August 5, 2009 8:47 am

    @Lex – The quote I’ve been thinking of is “We may sing ‘Welcome, welcome, Holy Spirit’, but he does not come because of our welcome. He is no guest, no stranger invited in for an hour or two. He is the Lord from heaven and invites us into his presence.” Plus, your comment on this where you said, “We’re only there because he invited us. How weird would it be to invite someone to his own house?” It was just something I’d never thought of before…

    • Lex permalink
      August 5, 2009 11:20 am

      @Tammy – I think you’d love it. Your meditative side would have a field day.

      @Nathan – You’re so right! And I think none of us really know Holy Spirit like we could (or should?). I thought I had a pretty good relationship going, but this book blew it out of the water.

      @Jacquie – I think I highlighted and underlined and bracket-ed that passage in my book. ;) On one had it seems so obvious, but on the other it’s a big eye-opener!

  8. Mari permalink
    August 6, 2009 11:31 pm

    I think it’s so awesome that you are able to give the book away – what a blessing! Looks like a great book & I LOVE to win things!! :) he he…

  9. Mari permalink
    August 6, 2009 11:32 pm

    ok – how do I change that nasty little face it puts by my comments? it looks like the little megatron from Transformers!

    • Lex permalink
      August 7, 2009 11:43 am

      @Mari – I was kind of blown away when the publisher contacted me. Very cool. And per the “nasty little face,” go to Gravatar.com and set yourself up with a pic. Then whenever you comment on a blog (that is cool with Gravatar) with the same email address it will use that pic.

  10. Lex permalink
    August 10, 2009 10:25 am

    Random.org picked 6 and then 5, so emails and books are out. Congrats to Nathan, Tammy (and Heather, from the first book give-away)! I hope you all dig it, and I encourage you to blog about it when you do!

Leave a Reply

