Skip to content

Starting to get intercession

July 28, 2009

bridal_intercessionI’m a month and a half into trying to figure out what “intercession” is, and last week Holy Spirit more or less bludgeoned me across the head with it. Maybe you’ve never considered that Holy Spirit would bludgeon someone, but that’s certainly what it felt like.

It started when I sat down, as I waited for water to boil, to read another chapter of a book that Tammy lent me called Bridal Intercession. I was on chapter seven and, so far, unimpressed with the teaching. I wasn’t even sure if I agreed with some of what Gary Wiens was had written, so when I sat down with chapter seven I was speed-reading.

Chapter seven, however, makes simple use of two passages of scripture that the Holy Spirit made use of like a battering ram. After much prayer, I started brain-dumping into my notebook for fear of losing what I had, and almost a week later I don’t think I can articulate it any better than this.

The scripture commentary is Gary’s teaching (I think I agree with him now) on the parable of the 10 virgins and the account of Jesus’ relationship with Martha and Mary – at Martha’s house and in raising Lazarus from the dead. Hopefully the rest of it – my hurried thoughts – make sense.

“Oil is intimacy through the ministry of the Holy Spirit. The foolish had enough for their ministry and the tasks of the day; the wise had extra because they sought intimacy with Jesus out of love.

“Martha had energy and focus for her ministry, but hadn’t cultivated the necessary relationship to understand the Word behind the doctrine. When Jesus came (late in both examples), Martha only had knowledge and doctrine. Mary came to Jesus (He asked for her) with the same prayer, but also with an intimacy that moved His heart. Then Jesus cried with her and then He moved.

“He calls intercessors like He called for Mary because He wants to act in the earth. Holy Spirit wants to move, but He’s established a partnership with His bride (and a formula that requires Spirit + Word) that He cannot violate. Still, it’s not a combination of words – He’s not a slot machine – it’s a relationship.

“He calls certain ones as intercessors. It does require an extra focus; it does require a time commitment, but not on asking over and over a dozen ways. The focus and the time is spent in worship, in sitting at His feet, in learning His heart, listening to His word, and learning to trust and love Him.

“He calls intercessors because He wants us to penetrate His heart. He wants to have a soft spot for us. He wants us to be able to ask Him to do what He already wants to do with as much passion and understanding as He has because He will not be unequally yoked with a bride and He will not partner with anyone else. Intercessors are worshippers who are not afraid to be loved deeply.

Does that make sense? What do you think? More seasoned intercessors: is this who you are? Am I way off? I’m willing to be way off if you can show me in scripture how I’m way off. I want to get this right. Thoughts?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. PeeJay permalink
    July 28, 2009 10:04 pm

    Not that I would ever go so far as to refer to myself as an intercessor…(a crazy kid that fell in love God maybe, but that’s as much label as I want to put on myself)…but I love the line about Jesus not wanting to be unequally yoked with His bride. Wow. That in and of itself even outside the constructs or ideas of intercession is amazing. I’m talking change-the-way-I-relate-to-Christ-and-to-my-world amazing. Wow. I need to go sit with Him on this one for a few days.

    • Lex permalink
      July 29, 2009 1:36 pm

      Hey PJ, thanks for the comment. Totally agree that the idea of being the bride of Christ is huge beyond intercession. Let us know if you get any more insight while you’re sitting with Him on that!

  2. Mari permalink
    July 29, 2009 5:29 pm

    I love this entry. I’m in the boat with you – although I don’t have that book. I’ll have to find it. I’m hoping some others comment and I can learn from them too. Have you read Intercessory Prayer by Dutch Sheets. Completely different style from Bridal but still makes you think.

    • Lex permalink
      July 29, 2009 8:59 pm

      Intercessors – We need your wisdom! :)

      I haven’t read Intercessory Prayer, but I’m new at this still. I have one other on deck after Bridal Intercession, but I’ll check out Dutch Sheets next. You can get Bridal Intercession from the fotb.com store.

  3. Mari permalink
    July 30, 2009 4:24 pm

    which other one do you have on deck?

    • Lex permalink
      July 30, 2009 5:26 pm

      I’m gonna start The Mantle of Esther by Larry Christenson this evening. :) You know me. I hadn’t heard much about it, but I went looking for something that was discussing Esther specifically as an intercessor (as opposed to one of the many “mighty women of God” Esther studies). This was one of the few that I found; it sounds promising (and there are used copies on Amazon for a dollar or two).

  4. Mari permalink
    July 31, 2009 6:04 pm

    sweet – give me a review of it and I’ll go check it out too.

    • Lex permalink
      July 31, 2009 11:20 pm

      Review coming Monday, actually … :)

Leave a Reply

