Skip to content

Ricardo

July 25, 2009

“God’s ways are sometimes mysterious.”

“Sometimes.”

It’s Friday evening just before 6 PM. Timothy and Matt are sitting on the edge of the stage and I headed to the office to retrieve something. I stepped into the lobby and notice a short, Hispanic-looking man in the foyer looking a little lost. He saw me. I smiled, and pushed open the door.

“You smiled. Thank you for smiling.”

“Sure. Can I help you with something?”

“I was looking for storage and I saw the sign said ‘church’ so I came to check it out and then you smiled. Thank you.” He turned to leave and I asked if he wanted to see the building. “Sure, let me tell the kids to close up the car.”

Windows rolled up, doors opened and shut and the man and his two adolescent, skater sons stood outside for a moment talking before they came back in. I smiled. You’ve been had, guys, by the Man, and you don’t even know it yet.

We walked through the lobby and into the worship space. Timothy met us, Ricardo introduced himself and said he wasn’t sure why he was there but was glad I smiled, and Timothy pointed to the younger guy’s shoes, “You’re a skater.” The kid lit up and I started to show dad – Ricardo – into the student ministry cafe.

“Oh they’re gonna love this, hold on. BOYS! Boys! Come here.” They did love it. Tim showed them the skate box he’d made, they looked around, they talked about missions.

Ricardo and his boys live in Elgin, but may be moving soon. He said he’d love to come by Sunday morning. As we walked through the lobby to see them out he paused and looked around the lobby one last time, “God’s ways are sometimes mysterious.”

I smiled, “Sometimes.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tyrone permalink
    July 27, 2009 12:21 pm

    Nice story, thanks for sharing.
    I’s amazing how God is shared and felt by a simple smile and a welcoming heart.
    Peace

Leave a Reply

