Skip to content

Holy Spirit Revolution (Book Give-Away)

July 13, 2009

bonnkeMy relationship with God was completely revolutionized this past week. And I’m psyched about it.

I read through Holy Spirit Revelation & Revolution: Exploring Holy Spirit Dimensions by Reinhard Bonnke during our little trip last week. It’s a small book – about 150 pages – but it seriously changed me. This is going to sound really cheesy, but I don’t know how else to say it … I feel more alive with God.

I have to share some of it with you over the next few days/weeks, and highly encourage you to get a copy of this thing. In fact, you can order it here. It will rock you.

Bonnke explains that he wrote the book because there’s been an awakening in the Church over the past century to the reality of the third Person of the Trinity. Despite that awakening, though, many Christians don’t know much about Holy Spirit. We’re experiencing Him in different ways, but Bonnke wanted to provide some simple, solid teaching.

Chapter 1 is titled, “Who is the Holy Spirit?” I thought I had a pretty good idea, but Bonnke blew it wide open. Two passages that really opened my eyes were these:

“The Holy Spirit has not come to create a cozy atmosphere in a church. We do not draw him into our services by creating the right atmosphere, regardless of whether that is quiet and subdued or noisy and exuberant. The Holy Spirit does not need to be attracted, invoked, persuaded or baited. He is not a reluctant or indifferent visitor but, following his own will and desire, he comes to take up residence.”

We know that, but we don’t always act like it. A couple paragraphs later he really drives it home,

“We may sing ‘Welcome, welcome, Holy Spirit’, but he does not come because of our welcome. He is no guest, no stranger invited in for an hour or two. He is the Lord from heaven and invites us into his presence. Where there is faith and the Word, he finds his natural environment.”

Whoa. How often do we do that? How often do we gather in churches or prayer groups and – rather arrogantly, really – say things like, “Holy Spirit, we welcome/invite you here.”? He’s already there, guys. We’re only there because he invited us. How weird would it be to invite someone to his own house? ‘Cause that’s what we’re doing.

Yes, scripture talks about our ability to grieve the Holy Spirit, but, Bonnke points out, “we could neither quench nor grieve him unless he was with us.”

Good stuff. More to come, but you should get the book. In fact, because I’m so convinced you should get this book, I’m going to give you one. Well, I’m going to give one. Leave a comment on this post by the end of the week – Friday, the 17th – and I’ll pick a winner at random to send a book to.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 8:12 pm

    Pick me! :-) I’m always looking for books like this one to shake things up a bit and get me thinking more God-thoughts. Your “cheesy” statement on how it made you feel more alive with God hooked me. So, if I don’t win, I’m off to find me a copy!

  2. July 16, 2009 5:23 pm

    i like the potential of a free book. :)

  3. July 17, 2009 8:56 am

    I would like to assist you with the books but need to know where to send it.

    • Lex permalink
      July 17, 2009 3:51 pm

      I thought I sent you an email with my address. I’ll try that again.

Leave a Reply

