Skip to content

Revolution

May 20, 2009
Kind of side note: You should buy me this shirt.

Kind of side note: You should buy me this shirt.

So I posted the results of my massive study yesterday morning.

Later, I was making a note of something I needed to do in my phone, and realized there are a lot of old notes in there. I started flipping through them, and deleting the ones I didn’t need anymore.

Then I found one from a meeting that Timothy and I had with Pastor Hoban months ago over breakfast. During the course of conversation we got off topic (big surprise – three talkers in a booth with coffee) – from student ministry to revolution. Which, I like to think, isn’t a huge leap.

I don’t remember the exact discourse, but I made a note of something Pastor said,

“You won’t get a revolution without discontent.”

Simple statement. Very true.

So … am I discontent? I want real, revolutionary faith – in me, in ministry, in the Church in the west. But am I discontent enough to reach for it? Am I discontent enough to fight for the deep things of God in my private life? Am I discontent enough with the fate of a generation to fight for revolutionary student ministry? Am I discontent enough with the anemic condition of the bride of Christ in the west to fight for her?

Are you? If yes, are you fighting? ‘Cause if you’re not fighting, I’d wonder. If no, is that good enough for you? Is “status quo” what you’ve always wanted for your life? Don’t be content with being content.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

