Skip to content

New

May 16, 2009

I’m posting this on Saturday ’cause I don’t think anyone really comes here on Saturdays … ’cause I never come here on Saturdays. So if you see this, great. If not … well I’m not heartbroken just yet.

I started a new blog.

Let me first say that (1) I’ll be here just the same, and (2) it’s hideous.

In my weeks of job hunting recently I started looking for freelance writing work (which actually yielded a couple things). I’d been through every job listing on several web sites and every restaurant on Randall in three towns, and was trying to think outside the box. The site that hosts this other blog pays (very little) for good blogs. The more hits you get, the more ad clicks you get, the more you get paid.

It’s a long shot, and an even longer shot that it would yield any kind of substantial income, but I was getting pretty desperate. Desperate enough that I signed up even though the fine print makes me agree to write as a work for hire, which means (see, I did learn something in college) that everything I publish on the site belongs to them.

You actually have to apply and get approved to use their site, and in the meantime I’d kind of forgotten about it. Then I got an email saying I’m in, so I figure I’ll try it anyway.

Because of some of you lovely people who have suggested I try my hand at a devotional, and because I was trying to come up with a concept that would draw readers back on at least a semi-regular basis, I set up a daily devotional blog. It’s ugly – like I said – because it’s covered with ads and I can’t control much of the aesthetic besides the header and what goes in the columns, but it’s there.

Well, it’s here. And it’s over there in the side bar. So if you’re interested, devo with me – and comment and link and RT. (If you’re not interested, but you like me, just bookmark it and open it once a day anyway.) Oh, and I set up a a Twitter account for it too in case you really, really like me and want to jump on that bandwagon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

