Skip to content

Unemployment, Week 1

May 8, 2009

100_3072

I’ve been mostly unemployed for a week now. (I say “mostly” because I still get to work two days/week at the church. I’ll get three days/week starting next week, which will help a bit.) It’s still pretty unreal.

First and foremost is the financial pressure. I sat down to write checks for a couple bills at the beginning of this week and … well I can’t be working only part time for very long before some serious you-know-what hits the fan. I really didn’t think it’d be this difficult to get a job. I know the job market is saturated, but I also knew the church council was looking at numbers, I have a couple friends in some big companies that are definitely hiring, I’ve got four years of admin experience, and I’ve been a waitress at several places before. I’ve also got God and darn it, people like me.

I really thought I’d have something by now, but the prospects have actually gotten thinner. I’m not real worried. God is our provider. But it’s still frustrating.

Other than that, though, I gotta say – I dig not working. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard, “You’d be so  bored.” I defy you.

I haven’t slept in on a single, unemployed morning. I get up with Timothy. My house is clean, jeans are patched, laundry is done, flower beds are taking shape, errands are actually getting done, I got to bake for the first time in a long time, and I started working on a freelance writing project I’ve been wanting to do for months. I pray more. I read more. And no, I haven’t taken a single nap.

I still have a list a mile long of projects to start or work on, and would probably have a lot more done if I didn’t spend 3/4 of the time sorting through classifieds and emailing resumes.

Moral of the story: I’m a great housewife. So I’m job hunting for Timothy now, instead of me. Someone hire him and pay him what he’s worth so I can be a housewife. :)

In seriousness, I’d appreciate your prayers (I know, I’m always asking you to pray for me.). As nice as it’s been to plant a few bulbs in the nice weather, it’s hard to really enjoy it with the underlying knowledge that our finances are moving backwards as I play in the dirt. I’m not freaking out; I’ve got the peace down. We need prayers for finances. Straight up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2009 4:24 am

    Nice new blog :D

    • Lex permalink
      May 11, 2009 8:36 am

      Thanks Craig. I hope this isn’t completely rude, but are we acquainted? I don’t recognize you from your pic. ;)

Leave a Reply

