Skip to content

… you are distracted.

May 6, 2009

distracted-girl
There I sat, amazed at the revelation that God only gets boring when we start to make gods of ourselves. And then I started to wonder at a new piece of human nature.

First it seemed impossible that we – individually or corporately – could lose sight of the glory of God after a good trip, crusade, conference, whatever. It made sense when He said, “It happens when you make it about you.”

Then I started to wonder, how can we even do that? How fallen, how perverted, do we as people have to be to exchange the infinite glory of God – having seen and touched it for ourselves – for disciplines and religion? Are we really so simple? Are we really so dumb?

I started to think about Revelation 4. The creatures and elders and angels that wait around the throne of heaven day after day after day after day for ever and ever and ever. They want to be there, and they choose to sing the same song over and over and over again.

“Holy, holy, holy. Lord God Almighty. Who was, and is, and is to come.”

That’s it. Over and over and over again. We get bored during a 20 minute worship set. They sing the same song – same chorus – from the bottom of their awe-struck hearts from eternity into eternity, and we roll our eyes when the worship team does an “old” song.

But we worship the same God. The Spirit of the Father who sits on the throne lives in me! The Spirit who raised Christ fro the dead so that He can sit at the right hand of the throne of glory lives in me! Jesus said He’d never leave me. He promised that where two or more were gathered in His name, He’d be there.

So what’s the difference? What’s the difference between the saints in heaven and the saints on earth? What’s the gap?

Distraction.

I think at the very core of it is that there are simply fewer distractions in heaven. They can sing “Holy, holy, holy” because every time they look on God there’s fresh inspiration in their hearts and the only word that expresses it is “holy.” Every time I look on God there’s fresh inspiration in my heart too, but I don’t do it as often. I’m distracted.

Some things are necessary. I have to work so I can be a blessing. I have to sleep. I have to eat. I have to keep my house clean. But some things are not necessary, and that’s why the psalmist wrote, “Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things, and revive me in Your way.” (Psalm 119:37) Not “bad things,” just “worthless things.”

So what’s distracting you? What “worthless things” are keeping you from looking on God? And are you ready to remove them?

People will resist you, mock you, and discourage you. People will say you’ve gone overboard. They’ll try to convince you that you’ve gone too far, and that you should come back. People are comfortable with, and comforted by, their distractions. Are you? Are you ready to let them go?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

