Skip to content

Francis Chan at Exponential

April 23, 2009

chan1Pastor and author Francis Chan made serious business of closing out the Exponential Conference this morning.

Not that I was there. You don’t really need to be anywhere exciting if one or two people you follow on Twitter are there, though. ‘Cause you follow them. If @mbstockdale and @BrownBill are there, I’m there. And they were there, so I felt like I was there.

Which brings up a side note: If a teaching/sermon is powerful as Tweeted in 140-character snippets, it’s good. Pastors, are your sermons Tweet-able? (That’s a whole other conversation.)

Following are some of those Tweets – edited for grammar ’cause you know how I am. Being that my lunch break is over, I’m leaving the commenting, critiquing, questioning and conversation up to you. Bring it. Chan brought it:

I dislike the book of Acts because I don’t read it and think, “That church looks just like us.” It bothers me that we don’t look like that.

I made excuses, “This is a different time and a different culture and the Holy Spirit is too tired. It can’t be that way again.”

We are just the opposite of Acts 13. We have too much education, but we lack boldness. We have far more education than the apostles did.

If I could start over I would start with more boldness. Not arrogance, boldness.

I tend to create systems and live my life the way I want, and then find scriptures to justify these things.

People say, “You just can’t do it in today’s culture, Francis. You can’t be this bold.” Are you kidding me?

Are you telling me that Jesus could grab 11 people and reach the world without internet access, but you can’t grab eleven people and reach your neighborhood? It’s the same Holy Spirit inside of you.

Acts 4:13, When they saw the boldness of Peter and John, they were ASTONISHED.

Gangs are a better picture of families than the body of Christ.

Gangs are doing things biblically, except for the killing part.

A gang is a better picture of family than the church. It’s like Satan stole God’s playbook.

We need to believe that the Holy Spirit is still able to do incredible stuff.

When’s the last time someone left your service and said, “Your Jesus is the real deal.”?

Now you. Favorites? Disagree? Discuss. Where you there in the flesh? Any good stuff to add?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. marybethstockdale permalink
    April 24, 2009 9:05 am

    It was a blessing to experience Exponential 2009 live, glad to share what I could with those who could not be there. Thanks for blogging it. Francis Chan does rock! ;) If you’re interested, I have a few more conference posts at http://marybethstockdale.wordpress.com/. Blessings!

  2. April 24, 2009 9:21 am

    How many times do we fail to allow for the presence of God? Good words, especially:

    Are you telling me that Jesus could grab 11 people and reach the world without internet access, but you can’t grab eleven people and reach your neighborhood? It’s the same Holy Spirit inside of you.

    • Lex permalink
      April 24, 2009 10:46 am

      @MaryBeth – Thanks for the link, and for sharing with those of us who couldn’t be there!

      @Ed – Honestly, I paused before I posted that one ’cause it so convicted me. *sigh*

  3. Bill permalink
    April 28, 2009 8:27 am

    thanks for the props on tweets from Exponential. Glad you could attend via tweet-world. Was really good stuff!!

Leave a Reply

