Skip to content

Humble or offended? You decide.

January 15, 2009

humilityOne last lesson from OneThing, though it had little to do with OneThing.

It started the night before, when Enterprise called to say they might not actually have a minivan for us the following morning. I’d gotten a call that morning from them saying everything’s good. Twelve hours later everything was not good. The following morning there was still no minivan, and it took them hours to find one.

The hotel was not much better. The fold-out beds were in terrible condition. No wireless internet in the rooms – or the “business center” when I actually did go down there. Husband tried to call the desk at one point and the person who answered didn’t speak English. Housekeeping started slamming doors early in the morning on the 1st. Not a good experience.

And there were a hundred other little things that reared up during those six days. Favors and requests and disrespect and somewhat rude ushers. One such thing slapped me a couple days into the event and as I clenched my jaw, Holy Spirit gently asked, “Are you going to be offended or are you going to be humbled?

It was like scales fell from my eyes.

Every inconvenient circumstance, every rude remark, every time someone’s selfishness leaves me uncomfortable or put-out, I have a choice to be offended or humbled. I can cry, “Woe is me!” and “I don’t need this!” and “How could (s)he?!” Or I can forgive, extend grace, and remember the abundant blessings that have already been poured out in my life.

Every grating situation can be an opportunity for me to harden my heart or humble myself. When I choose offense, I try to come to my own defense, which means I stop trusting in God, which pushes me further from Him and further from surrender. When I choose humility I may allow myself to be walked on a little, and an ungoldy person may find it easier to take advantage of me again sometime, but I’ll be moving up in the kingdom of heaven.

We forget, sometimes, that Jesus was humiliated, abused, and killed as a completely innocent Man, and from that position He calls us to follow Him.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. seekingrecklessabandon permalink
    January 15, 2009 8:41 pm

    Ah! I got your comment and now frantically want to go scan your blog :-)

    OneThing….as in IHOP’s onething conference?

    man o man and Esther Project…as in a real project or your sweet blog name?

    must go research you hahahaha :)

  2. January 16, 2009 4:31 pm

    “I can forgive, extend grace, and remember the abundant blessings that have already been poured out in my life.”

    Seems like a great definition of humility :)

  3. January 16, 2009 10:20 pm

    good post

  4. Lex permalink
    January 19, 2009 12:10 pm

    Thanks, everybody.

Leave a Reply

