Skip to content

When worship becomes prophecy

January 12, 2009

I think it was the second night of OneThing. I know Misty was leading worship, and I know that the reality of Jesus coming back to claim His inheritance had really started to become a reality within me. I don’t remember if I’d had one or two days worth of teaching, but it was enough to start convincing me that it’s real and it’s serious and I’m not sure if I’m ready for it.

Jesus – whom we like to remember as a baby in a manger or a battered man on a cross or a hippie with a sheep around His neck – is going to release judgment on the earth. Jesus is. A dozen judgments before He even returns to the earth. A lot of people are going to die. The environmental consequences are going to be extreme. It’s going to be ugly.

And then when He does come back, He’s not going to be the Free Hugs guy. He’s going to march through the Middle East slaughtering His enemies. He’s going to completely break down the social and political structures of the entire earth. (And all of it will be perfect and just.)

Huge chunks of the book of Revelation are commonly referred to as the “parenthetical sections” whereby the angel explains to John (the apostle and “author”) what is going on. The very fact that the angel had to pause the story to explain it to John means even John – exiled on an island as an old man because people hate the gospel – had a hard time understanding the severity of the situation. Why so violent? Why so much destruction?

That reality was settling in my spirit when Misty started singing “I trust You, Jesus.” It became the chorus and I don’t know if I can type what happened when 15,000 people picked it up.

Every time we sang it, it became more real. Am I ready? I know He is good and righteous and just, because I sing it all the time, but when He’s “treading the winepress of His wrath” will I still think that? Will I still be on His side? Will I still agree with Him? When He does something that I don’t understand and it seems harsh – which will inevitably happen – am I ready to trust Him? No matter what? Every time we sang it, it got heavier inside of me.

And every time we sang it – almost in contradiction, but somehow not at all – I believed it. It became more real, more serious, more grave, but I believed it.

“… when the Son of Man comes, will He really find faith on the earth?” Luke 18:8

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

