Skip to content

How’s YOUR Friday?

January 9, 2009

Husband’s car doesn’t do winter weather. The wipers still need to be fixed, for one. So I took him to work this morning. Not going to get in as early as I’d hoped, but fine. Safety first and stuff.

Got in. Sent a couple emails. Checked a couple updates, and decided to take the van we use to pick up groceries for the Benevolence ministry, to the thrift store to see if I could score a small table and a couple more savvy cafe chairs before the student ministry “launch” tonight.

Let the van warm up. Brush off snow. Scrape ice off windshield. Little difficulty getting it moving through a few inches of snow, but we win. Five minutes later it’s pulse starts to drop.

“No.” I command very calmly.

A moment later the needle on the speedometer crashes into the void below the “10.” I make a mental note to call the guy who runs the Benevolence ministry when I get back to tell him about that.

The engine stops.

Just like that.

The right side of the road is nothing. I throw on a blinker, cut off the minivan trying to pass me in the left lane, plow across two mercifully-empty lanes into the not-plowed parking lot of Ambrose Heating & Air. Being that the parking lot is not plowed, I barely make it in.

I call Scott at the church. I call Husband. I call Benevolence guy. I call mechanic guy’s house on the off chance that he’s not at work for some reason and get the answering machine. I go inside.

“Does anyone know anything about cars?” I explain. Older guy, “I’ll have a look at it.” Younger guy, “I gotta get to this job. Wait – are you blocking the entrance?” Me, “Yup.” Younger guy, “Smart move.” I shrug. We charge the battery for five to seven minutes. The van starts. I thank them profusely and leave to head back to the church despite the fact that I can see the resale store and I’m really tempted to try it.

Five minutes later, the engine dies again. I bite my lip to restrain the string of obscenities that waits on the tip of my tongue as I again throw on a blinker, cut off someone in the left lane, and come to rest on the median. I take a deep breath. I call Scott at the church.

Scott and Bud – who happens to be at the church – come out with jumper cables. We charge the battery for 15 minutes to no avail. The guys from the gas station get it started and take it back to the shop. Alternator, blah blah blah I just want to get chairs.

I take my little Ford out to the resale store and pull into the parking lot two hours after having initially left for said resale store. No chairs. Cute old desk that will make a great table for art supplies in the cafe. I struggle with garbage in my trunk and eventually get the desk in. In the process, my keys have slipped from the back bumper,

into the trunk. I notice this almost precisely as I close the hatch and try to stop it but only manage to add insult to injury in the process because now the hatch is not fully closed but closed enough to have latched at which point it automatically locks. I can see the keys sticking out. Of course the other two doors to the car are also locked. I hit and kick the Ford. It does not release the keys. In fact, I think it laughed at me.

I call Husband, who has my spare but does not have a car because I dropped him off this morning. He borrows a car and shows up 30 minutes later.

I get back to the church just after 2 PM having accomplished nothing at all today and am tempted to pray that this Winter Advisory lives up to it’s name – and quickly – because I could really use another week to prepare for tonight.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Don Reed permalink
    January 9, 2009 3:30 pm

    Girl!
    The enemy must really not want you to have the launch tonight. He must be scared cuz he throwing a bunch of his misfits at you.
    Hang in there.
    It’ll all work out.

  2. Tim K permalink
    January 10, 2009 5:37 am

    Wow, all I can say is that the Old Tan Van was good to me :) for many years. It sounds like it needs some TLC and loving. Hope it went well. What did you guys do for the Launch, I would love to find out.

    tjk1967@gmail.com

  3. Lex permalink
    January 12, 2009 12:08 pm

    We had a funeral for Switch on our last Friday in December: casket, Taps, 21 gun salute – the whole nine yards. The launch wasn’t as spectacular as it maybe should have been but between my day on Friday and being out of town for a week at OneThing, it was great! :) We had dinner together, unleashed a new name, mission statement, website, etc., and talked through some of the changes.

Leave a Reply

