Skip to content

cop out

January 17, 2007

It’s not even like I don’t have anything to type about. We started Omega last night – I think I’ve linked Omega more than anything else on this silly blog. It was great: 45 minute video and two hours of conversation. We covered everything too; I wonder what we could possibly talk about next week. We started at the positive events of the end times and ended up in a dialogue about the sovereignty of God vs. free will and omnipotence vs. the power of prayer. I was exhausted.

I’m also in the middle of a great teaching Misty Edwards gave at the recent Onething conference. It’s really, really good and I could tell you all about it … and maybe I will … tomorrow.

Right now I’m tired. The analogy I recently gave a friend was, “It’s kind of like being run over by a car again and again and again … pretty soon there’s just no bones left to break so what does it really matter if it happens one more time?”

Three years ago this would have been okay. I would have slipped into the low end of the bi-polar wave and cried myself to sleep for a few weeks. Now I’m free … and I know I’m free. I don’t have to do that anymore and I don’t want to, but really, it would be easier. Now I ask the Lord to humble my heart, and now I practice praying for those who spitefully use me. I pray the Lord show me that the lesson here is to love my enemy. “Enemy” might be a strong word, but its the same idea.

All that said, this walrus does sit ups. There’s some silly thing about a soccer fight and a weird ritual (that evidently doesn’t work) after the walrus, because I didn’t edit the video. CNN apparently ran a longer story on the walrus, but if it’s on YouTube, I can’t find it. There are those days when you need a walrus with a workout regimen to pick you up again. Dying to self is easier when there’s a large marine mammal doing push-ups, that’s just a general rule.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

